Love, Owan, Abraham, Arnold elected to University Senate

General Conference delegates elected four people to serve on the University Senate of the UMC.

Jan Love, dean of the Candler School of Theology at Emory University, was one. She’s a former deputy general secretary of the Women’s Division of the Board of Global Ministries.

Also elected was the Rev. Kasap Owan of the North Katanga Conference. He’s president of Katanga United Methodist University and the African Association of United Methodist Theological Institutions.

William Abraham, Albert Outler Cook Professor of Wesley Studies at Perkins School of Theology, was elected, as was Bill T. Arnold, an Old Testament professor and former provost of Asbury Theological Seminary.

The University Senate has 25 voting members, and determines which schools, colleges and universities and theological schools can be listed as affiliated with the UMC.


Leave a Reply

The United Methodist Reporter wants to encourage lively conversation about The United Methodist Church and our articles in the belief that Christian conversation (what Wesley would call conferencing) is a means of grace. While we support passionate debate, we cannot allow language that demeans or demonizes others, and we reserve the right to delete any comment we believe to be harmful or inappropriate. We encourage all to remember that we are all broken and in need of Christ's grace, and that we all see through the glass darkly until that time we when reach full perfection in love. May your speech here be tempered with love, and reflection of the fruits of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. After all, "There is no law against things like this." (Galatians 5:22-23)
Notify of
%d bloggers like this: