Archives for July 2016

South Central Jurisdiction Episcopal Assignments for 2016-2020

The South Central Jurisdiction Committee on Episcopacy has announced the following episcopal assignments for the 2016-2020 quadrennium: Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe to the Northwest Texas-New Mexico Episcopal Area Bishop Robert Farr to the Missouri Episcopal Area Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey to the Louisiana Episcopal Area Bishop Scott J. Jones to the Houston Episcopal Area Bishop […]

Western Jurisdiction elects first openly lesbian bishop

by Jeremy Smith, Nancy Speas-Hill, and Jay Voorhees Tonight the Western Jurisdiction of The United Methodist Church unanimously elected the Rev. Dr. Karen Oliveto as a bishop of the church. Oliveto, the Sr. Pastor of the Glide Memorial UMC in San Francisco, CA, came out this past year as practicing lesbian, and she is the first […]

South Central Jurisdiction Elects Bob Farr to Episcopacy

by Rev. Becky David-Hensley Late on Friday afternoon, Rev. Robert (Bob) Farr of the Missouri Annual Conference was elected as the third and final bishop to the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, convening this week in Wichita, Kansas. After a long day of voting, the SCJ delegates finally moved in favor of electing Rev. Farr over […]

South Central Jurisdiction Elects Jimmy Nunn to Episcopacy

by Rev. Becky David-Hensley On the 21st ballot, Rev. James (Jimmy) Nunn of the Northwest Texas Conference received 126 votes – enough to make him the second bishop elected from the South Central Jurisdictional Conference being held in Wichita, Kansas this week After electing its first bishop on the third ballot, the SCJ Conference hit […]

Recently Read: NEJ resolution recommends letting regional bodies adapt Discipline

UMR’s friends Erik Alsgaard and Maidstone Mulenga published a post at tonight on the adoption of a resolution by the Northeastern Jurisdiction asking the Council of Bishops “Way Forward” study committee to allow regional bodies to adapt the Book of Discipline to their specific contexts: The Northeastern Jurisdiction of The United Methodist Church approved a […]

SEJ announces episcopal assignments

Lake Junaluska, NC — The Committee on Episcopacy of the Southeastern Jurisdiction announced tonight the episcopal assignments for 2016-2020. These appointments traditionally begin in September, and most bishops traditionally serve two four-year terms in an episcopal area. The assignments are: Bishop J. Lawson Bryan to the South Georgia Episcopal Area Bishop Kenneth Carter to the […]

Rev. Laurie Haller elected as a bishop in the North Central Jurisdiction

The Rev. Laurie Haller was elected to the episcopacy on the 13th ballot by the members of the North Central Jurisdictional Conference, meeting this week in Peoria, IL. Haller’s election fills the last of four openings in the jurisdiction. Haller currently serves as Sr. Pastor of the First United Methodist Church in Birmingham MI. A […]

South Central Jurisdiction elects Ruben Saenz, Jr. to episcopacy

by Rev. Becky David-Hensley On the third ballot, with 133 votes, the South Central Jurisdiction of the UMC elected Rev. Dr. Ruben Saenz, Jr. of the Rio Texas Conference as its first newly elected Bishop of the 2016 Jurisdictional Conference. The SCJ is meeting this week in Wichita, KS. Rev. Dr. Saenz earned his Master of Divinity […]

Northeastern Jurisdiction College of Bishops issues statement on racism and inclusion

The Northeastern Jurisdiction College of Bishops released the following statement at the opening of the Northeastern Jurisdictional Conference meeting in Lancaster, PA on Wednesday, July 13, 2016. The statement was delivered to the conference by Bishop Sandra Steiner Ball: As we gather for this Jurisdictional Conference many persons have been confronted and consumed with the […]

UPDATED: LaTrelle Easterling elected as a bishop in the Northeastern Jurisdiction

The Rev. LaTrelle Easterling was elected today by the members of the Northeastern Jurisdictional Conference (NEJ) on the 17th ballot. The NEJ is meeting this week in Lancaster, PA. Easterling is a member of the New England Annual Conference and currently serves as the district superintendent of the Metro Boston Hope District. A graduate of […]