Duke Divinity School term image

Recently Read: Elaine Heath Named Dean of Duke Divinity School

Elaine A. Heath, a theologian, preacher, teacher and writer, will be the next dean of the Duke Divinity School, President Richard H. Brodhead and Provost Sally Kornbluth announced Tuesday. Heath is currently the McCreless Professor of Evangelism at Southern Methodist University’s Perkins School of Theology in Dallas. She succeeds Ellen Davis, who has served as […]

David Steinmetz Dies at 79

David Steinmetz, the Amos Ragan Kearns Distinguished Professor Emeritus of the History of Christianity at Duke Divinity School, died Nov. 26 at UNC Hospitals in Chapel Hill, N.C. He was 79. A memorial service will be held at 2 p.m. on Dec. 5 at Christ United Methodist Church in Chapel Hill. Steinmetz retired from Duke […]

Hays to Step Down As Dean of Duke Divinity School in 2016

News from Duke Divinity School: Duke Divinity School Dean Richard B. Hays today announced that he will conclude his term as dean at the end of the next academic year, June 30, 2016. He will take a research leave during the 2016-17 academic year and then return to his position as professor of New Testament […]